2015

I realized yesterday that I never really took time to reflect on what happened in 2015. I was so ready to jump into 2016 that I almost forgot to recognize the great times of 2015. I really want to look back on everything that happened this year and what I have learned from it (at the end).
So, here we go.

I spent my Spring Break in EUROPE. We went to Munich, Florence, Assisi, and Rome for our Senior Trip. Who gets to do that with their classmates?

Stephanie and Chad got MARRIED!!! And I got to be Steph’s Maid of Honor–speech and everything.

My Naani Ma got to come and stay with Mom and me for a couple of months. ♥

I GRADUATED from Charles Henderson High School. And let me tell you, this was a hard one…especially singing our Alma Mater as an Alumna at graduation…so weird. So many lifetime memories were made at Chuck High & I was seriously blessed with beautiful friendships.

Angel asked me to be one of her bridesmaids!

I went to a Neon Trees/Coin concert with Alex, Perry, and Taylor.

My little brother, Caden, turned ONE.

Sadly, Dad, Mrs. Carrie, and Caden moved to North Carolina.

I participated in Fall Rush.
I chose Chi Omega and luckily they chose me back.
I got a great big, Janet Sanders. ♥

I STARTED COLLEGE???
I got a job on campus. Thank goodness.

Krishna moved to Auburn & I had to figure things out without my best friend living 3 miles away.

I tied rakhi on KUSH.

I met my roommates and don’t even get me started on them. I could not do college without living with the best people on campus. #BLESSED

I went to 2 PARACHUTE concerts in the same weekend in Auburn and Nashville.

I went to New Orleans for the first time with my mommma.

I went to a Highlands small group at Mrs. Kelly/ Mr. Shane’s house during the Fall semester.

And, when the small group ended, I got to go to the Living In Freedom Every Day Conference with some AWESOME people. (Including my sweeeeet roommate Gracie, my darling friend, Judith, and my Chi O sistaaa, Emily)

Judith is PREGNANT!! What.

I turned 19 YEARS OLD.

Stephanie graduated with her Masters in OT!

I got to spend family time in Florida with Audra, Zack, Grandma, Grandpa, Maasi, Stephanie, Chad, Mom, Lola, Caden, Dad, and Mrs. Carrie. I love you guys.

And finally, I got to spend Christmas in North Carolina with Mrs. Carrie, Dad, and Caden.

Looking back on this year, I have learned a lot about myself. I have learned how to really appreciate and love myself in the way God wants me to. I have strengthened all of my relationships, including my most important one with Jesus. I have met so many new people and adapted to new circumstances. I have started a new chapter in my life, forcing myself to take on new responsibilities. I have learned it is hard to be responsible for yourself and live on your own sometimes. I have become more confident in myself than ever before in the person God has created me to be. I have pursued time with God and focused on talking to Him and loving Him. I have been more nervous, unprepared, confused, and stressed in 2015 than any other year. I was hurt a few times, but I still saw light in every struggle. 2015 was my strongest year. I learned how I should treat everyone, how I should love everyone, and how I need to be treated/loved. I have never laughed more in my life than I did in this year. I spent time with the greatest people and had the best time of my life in 2015. I discovered tons of new music, spent time in worship, focused on my friendships, and dived into new opportunities.

Thank you all for being a part of my 2015. Even if I didn’t mention you, I am extremely thankful for my friends and family. You have no idea the huge impact you have on my life. Thank you for helping mold me into the person I am becoming. You are the best and I hope you are already enjoying this New Year as much as I am! Happy 2016!!

Xoxo,
Simme Shay

Leave a Reply

